HomeAbout ASCDivisionsMember DirectoryPublicationsEmploymentJoin/RenewContact Us




The ASC Fellows Committee invites nominations for Fellows in the Society. The title of "Fellow" is given to those members of the Society in good standing who have achieved distinction in criminology. The honorary title "Fellow" recognizes persons who have made a scholarly contribution to the intellectual life of the discipline, whether in the form of a singular, major piece of scholarship or cumulative scholarly contributions. Longevity alone is not sufficient. In addition, a Fellow must have made a significant contribution to the field through the career development of other criminologists and/or through organizational activities within the ASC.

The names of those who have been awarded the Fellow status will be announced at the Annual Meeting and the candidates will be acknowledged by the Society with the presentation of a certificate.

In your nominating letter, please describe the reasons for your nomination and include a copy of the nominee's curriculum vitae (or make arrangements to have it sent to the Committee Chair). Please limit nominations to a single cover letter and the nominee's curriculum vitae. All materials should be submitted in electronic format. The Board may elect up to four (4) persons as Fellows annually.

Large letter-writing campaigns do not benefit nominees and unnecessarily burden the Committee. Award decisions will be based on the strength of the nominees' qualifications and not on the number of nomination endorsements received for any particular candidate.

Current members of the ASC Board are ineligible to receive this award. 

Nomination materials should be submitted by March 1, 2020 to:

Fellows Committee Chair
Cheryl Maxson

The Executive Board may decide not to give the award in any given year. Award decisions will be based on the strength of the nominees' qualifications and not on the number of nomination endorsements received for any particular candidate.


ASC Fellows

The year these individuals were designated as Fellows is noted.  Unfortunately, our historical records are not complete. 
Some of the years noted are a "best guess," based on available archived documents. If you have more accurate information,
please contact Chris Eskridge (ceskridge@unl.edu).

A - H
I - P
Q - Z
  Freda Adler (1994)   James A. Inciardi (1995)   Richard Quinney (1995)
  Robert Agnew (2000)   John Irwin (1993)   Nicole H. Rafter (2000)
  Ronald L. Akers (1979)   James Jacobs (2003)   Walter Reckless (1977)
  Harry E. Allen (1982)   C. Ray Jeffery (1977)   George Reed (1977)
  William E. Amos (1978)   Gary Jensen (2001)   Sue Titus Reid (1982)
  John Ball (1976)   Douglas Kelley (1976)   Albert J. Reiss, Jr. (1980)
  Eric Baumer (2016)   John Kenney (1976)   Peter Reuter (2008)
  David Bayley (1999)   Nicholas Kittrie (1976)   Rick Rosenfeld (2005)
  Joanne Belknap (2018)   Malcolm W. Klein (1994)   Edward Sagarin (1976)
  Michael L. Benson (2016)   Solomon Kobrin (1986)   Robert Sampson (1992)
  Donald Black (1991)   Lauren Krivo (2018)   Joachim Savelsberg (2008)
  Alfred Blumstein (1983)   Marv Krohn (2012)   Frank Scarpitti (1981)
  Frank Boolsen (1976)   Candace Kruttschnitt (2017)   Thorsten Sellin (1977)
  David Bordua (1987)   Charis Kubrin (2019)   Lawrence Sherman (1994)
  Anthony A. Braga (2016)   Gary LaFree (2006)   James F. Short, Jr. (1984)
  John Braithwaite (1998)   Kenneth Land (2004)   Neal Shover (2006)
  Rod Brunson (2019)   John H. Laub (1996)   Richard Simon (1986)
  Robert J. Bursik, Jr. (1998)   Janet Lauritsen (2013)   Rita Simon (1976)
  Shawn Bushway (2017)   Peter Lejins (1978)   Ronald Simons (2015)
  Ruth Shonle Cavan (1965)   Edwin M. Lemert (1991)   Sally Simpson (2009)
  William J. Chambliss (1988)   Alfred Lindesmith (1980)   Wesley G. Skogan (1997)
  Meda Chesney-Lind (1996)   Allen Liska (1998)   Jerome H. Skolnick (1995)
  Roland J. Chilton (2001)   Alan Lizotte (2014)   Cassia Spohn (2013)
  Jacob Chwast   Rolf Loeber (2000)   Darrell Steffensmeier (1997)
  Todd Clear (2011)   Colin Loftin (2010)   Eric Stewart (2017)
  Marshall Clinard (1978)   Doris MacKenzie (2007)   Denis Szabo (1978)
  Albert Cohen (1977)   Donal E. J. MacNamara (1979)   Ralph Taylor (2011)
  Phillip J. Cook (2000)   Coramae Richey Mann (1999)   Faye S. Taxman (2018)
  Bruno Cormier (1976)   Stephen Mastrofski (2010)   Terence P. Thornberry (1995)
  Donald Cressey (1980)   Ross Matsueda (2004)   Charles R. Tittle (1991)
  Robert Crutchfield (2011)   Cheryl Maxson (2015)   Hans Toch
  Francis T. Cullen, Jr. (1997)   Lorraine Mazerolle (2017)   Michael Tonry (1999)
  Kathleen Daly (2014)   Joan McCord (1982)   Austin T. Turk (1977)
  Scott Decker (2012)   David McDowall (2009)   Chris Uggen (2013)
  William Dienstein (1976)   Daniel Mears (2018)   August Vollmer (1976)
  Simon Dinitz (1976)   Steven F. Messner (2002)   Mark Warr (2012)
  Vladmir Elisberg (1965)   Jody Miller (2014)   David Weisburd (2005)
  Delbert S. Elliott (1994)   Terrie Moffitt (2003)   Charles F. Wellford (1996)
  LaMar T. Empey (1982)   Merry Morash (2008)   Helene R. White (2016)
  Finn Esbensen (2014)   Albert Morris (1976)   Cathy S. Widom (2002)
  Jeffrey Fagan (2002)   Norval Morris (1992)   Per-Olof Wikstrom (2010)
  David P. Farrington (1991)   June Morrison (1977)   Leslie T. Wilkins (1997)
  Barry Feld (2005)   Gerhard O.W. Mueller (1976)   Orlando Wilson (1976)
  Richard Felson (2013)   W. H. Nagel (1977)   Anne Witte (1987)
  David Finkelhor (2007)   Daniel Nagin (1999)   Marvin Wolfgang (1976)
  Vernon Fox (1978)   Gwynne Nettler (1977)    Richard T. Wright (2009)
  Marcel Frym (1976)   Charles Newman (1976)   Margaret A. Zahn (1998)
  David Garland (2007)   Arthur Niederhoffer (1981)   Marjorie Zatz (2019)
  Gilbert Geis (1976)   Lloyd Ohlin (1982)   Franklin Zimring (1993)
  Don Gibbons (1981)   Wayne Osgood (2005)    
  Jack Gibbs (1981)   J. J. Panakal (1965)    
  Peggy Giordano (2006)   Raymond Paternoster (2001)    
  Daniel Glaser (1980)   Joan Petersilia (1990)    
  Denise Gottfredson (2007)   Ruth D. Peterson (2001)    
  Don M. Gottfredson (1987)   Alex Piquero (2011)    
  Michael Gottfredson (1992)   Henry Pontell (2008)    
  David Greenberg (1994)   Barbara Raffel Price (1988)    
  John Hagan (1985)        
  Richard O. Hankey (1976)        
  Frank Hartung (1978)        
  Darnell Hawkins (2019)        
  J. David Hawkins (2004)        
  Karen Heimer (2015)        
  Michael Hindelang (1980)        
  Travis Hirschi (1983)        
  Julie Horney (2004)        
  C. Ronald Huff (2002)