HomeAbout ASCDivisionsMember DirectoryPublicationsEmploymentJoin/RenewContact Us



(Application Deadline: March 1 )

The Edwin H. Sutherland Award (established in 1960) recognizes outstanding contributions to theory or research in criminology on the etiology of criminal and deviant behavior, the criminal justice system, corrections, law, or justice.  The distinguished contribution may be based on a single outstanding book or work, on a series of theoretical or research contributions, or on the accumulated contributions by a senior scholar.

In submitting your nominations, provide the following supporting materials:
l.  A letter evaluating the nominee's contribution and its relevance to this award.
2. The nominee's curriculum vitae (short version preferred).

Current members of the ASC Board are ineligible to receive this award.

Those interested in being considered or in nominating someone for the Sutherland Award should send the above noted materials in electronic format by March 1, 2019 to:

Edwin H. Sutherland Committee Chair
Ramiro Martinez

The Executive Board may decide not to give the award in any given year. Award decisions will be based on the strength of the nominees' qualifications and not on the number of nomination endorsements received for any particular candidate.

List of past Award Winners