HomeAbout ASCDivisionsMember DirectoryPublicationsEmploymentJoin/RenewContact Us



(Application Deadline: March 1 )

The Thorsten Sellin & Sheldon and Eleanor Glueck Award (established in 1974) is given in order to call attention to criminological scholarship that considers problems of crime and justice as they are manifested outside the United States; internationally or comparatively.  Preference is given for scholarship that analyzes non-U.S. data, is published predominantly outside of U.S. criminological journals, and in granting the award, brings new perspectives or approaches to the attention of the members of the Society.  The recipient need not speak English, however, his/her work must be available in part at least, in the English language (either by original publication or through translation).

In submitting your nominations, provide the following supporting materials:
l.  A letter evaluating the nominee's contribution and its relevance to this award.
2. The nominee's curriculum vitae (short version preferred).

Current members of the ASC Board are ineligible to receive this award.

Those interested in being considered or in nominating someone for the Sellin-Glueck Award should send the above noted materials in electronic format by March 1, 2020 to:

Thorsten Sellin & Sheldon and Eleanor Glueck Committee Chair
Sheldon Zhang

The Executive Board may decide not to give the award in any given year. Award decisions will be based on the strength of the nominees' qualifications and not on the number of nomination endorsements received for any particular candidate.

List of past Award Winners