HomeAbout ASCDivisionsMember DirectoryPublicationsEmploymentJoin/RenewContact Us



(Application Deadline: February 15 )

The Michael J. Hindelang Outstanding Book Award (established in 1992) is given annually for a book, published within three (3) calendar years preceding the year in which the award is made, that makes the most outstanding contribution to research in criminology.  For this year, the book must have been originally published in 2017, 2018, and 2019.

To be considered, books must be nominated by individuals who are members of the American Society of Criminology. Self-nominations by ASC members are acceptable. The Committee will not consider anthologies and/or edited volumes. 

To nominate a book, please send the title of the book, its authors, the publisher, the year of the publication, and a brief discussion of your reasons for the recommendation to the Hindelang Committee Chair. The Chair will subsequently contact the publishers and/or authors to arrange for hard desk copies of the works to be distributed to the Hindelang Committee members. The responsibility for distributing the hard desk copies to the Hindelang Committee members rests with the publishers and/or the authors.

Current members of the ASC Board are ineligible to receive this award. However, if a current member of the Board is nominated for this award, their nomination shall be considered in the first year following their service on the Board.

The deadline for receiving nominations is February 15, 2020.  

Hindelang Committee Chair
Wenona Rymond-Richmond

The Executive Board may decide not to give the award in any given year. Award decisions will be based on the quality of the manuscripts and not on the number of nomination endorsements received for any particular book.

List of past Award Winners