The Practitioner Research Award recognizes excellent social science research that is conducted in government agencies to help that agency develop better policy or operate more effectively. The emphasis will be placed on a significant piece of research concerning community corrections, institutional corrections, or the judiciary conducted by a researcher or policy analyst employed by a government agency (federal, state, or local). Besides recognition and an opportunity to present about the research at ASC, there will be a reimbursement of up to $500 to attend the annual meeting. Nominations should include a nomination letter and the candidate’s curriculum vitae and should be submitted to by no later than August 1, 2018 (please put “practitioner research award nomination” in the subject line). Bret Bucklen,, serves as the award committee chairperson. Questions about the awards or nominations process should be addressed to Brandy Blasko, DCS Awards Committee Chair, at

Past Practitioner Research Award Recipients:

2017 Bret Ellis and Sarah Schelle, Indiana Department of Corrections
2016 Brian Kowalski, Ph.D.,
Ohio Department of Correction and Rehabilitation
2015 Kristofer Bret Bucklen, Ph.D. and Nikki Bell, Ph.D.,
PA Department of Corrections
2014 Grant Duwe
Research Director of the Minnesota Department of Corrections