This award recognizes a lasting scholarly career, with particular emphasis on a ground-breaking contribution (e.g., book or series of articles) in the past 5 years. The award’s committee will consider both research in the area of corrections and sentencing and service to the Division. Recipients must have 8 or more years of post-doctoral experience. Nominations should include a nomination letter and the candidate’s curriculum vitae and should be submitted to Brandy Blasko, Nominations Committee Chair, at no later than August 1, 2018 (please put “distinguished scholar award nomination” in the subject line). Questions about the awards or nominations process should be addressed to Brandy Blasko, DCS Awards Committee Chair, at

Prior Distinguished Scholars:

2017 Not Awarded
2016 John Wooldredge
2015 Pamela K. Lattimore
2014 Shawn Bushway
2013 Faye S. Taxman
2012 Jeffery Ulmer
2011 Steven Belenko & Jim Byrne (Co-award recipients)
2010 Susan Turner
2009 Patricia Van Voorhis
2008 Faye S. Taxman
2007 John Hepburn
2006 Cassia Spohn
2005 Doris Mackenzie
2004 Don Andrews
2003 Todd Clear
2002 Joan Petersilia
2001 Michael Tonry