This award recognizes outstanding early career achievement in corrections and sentencing research. The award’s committee will consider both research in the area of corrections and sentencing and service to the Division. Recipients must have less than 8 years of post-doctoral experience. Nominations should include a nomination letter and the candidate’s curriculum vitae and should be submitted to Brandy Blasko, Nominations Committee Chair, at no later than August 1, 2018 (please put “distinguished new scholar award nomination” in the subject line). Questions about the awards or nominations process should be addressed to Brandy Blasko, DCS Awards Committee Chair, at

Past Distinguished New Scholar Award Recipients

2017 Joshua Cochran
2016 Michael Ostermann
2015 Jamie J. Fader
2014 Kate Fox
2013 Christopher Wildeman
2012 Benjamin Steiner
2011 Brian D. Johnson
2010 Aaron Kupchik
2009 Beth Huebner
2008 Joseph Murray
2007 Not awarded
2006 Jody Sundt
2005 Jodi Lane
2004 Shadd Maruna
2003 Gaylene Armstrong
2002 Brandon Applegate
2001 Jeffrey Ulmer